top of page

The Countryside

Living in one of Japan's countrysides (although it has the word "city" in its name) has quite a few perks: cheaper rent, cheaper food, a more relaxed environment and my favourite part - awesome views of nature.

I live in Anan, a small city in Tokushima Prefecture. It's about a two-hour+ bus trip to Osaka and or an hour's worth of plane ride to Tokyo.

This river bank is five minutes away from my house.

Most of the people I know wonder why I accepted this job which put me in a place far from the big cities but having lived in Singapore for the past half a decade, Anan was quite a welcome change of pace for me.

I’m not saying that it's not nice to be living in the big cities like Tokyo but as a personal choice, I am much happier and content in this small city. The best part? I can still go to these huge metropolitans on weekends and holidays AND have the option to come home and relax in my quiet little corner of Japan.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page