top of page

One Smart Cookie

Or more. Like a dozen. Maybe.

Anyway, I have come to the conclusion that Amazon is dangerous. It will probably leave me penniless (or yen-less) by the time I realize what's happening.

As most of you know, I just moved to Japan so I'm pretty much starting from scratch - and that includes appliances. Soooo, I got an oven delivered from Amazon and it got in today!

My pantry was basically empty so I went to the supermarket to get some baking ingredients. And man it's tough not knowing how to read Japanese! I literally spent half an hour trying to find all ingredients of a simple cookie. My google translate app's camera wasn't much help too.

Anyways, I finally made it and started on my cookies. I decided to make this thick and a bit cakey (so I'd cheat myself into thinking I'm full from eating just one piece).

I was pleasantly surprised to see their butter sticks already separated! This is sooo convenient.


I'm using more flour than usual to make the cookies thicker and more filling and melting the butter before mixing it to make it more chewy.



I only baked it for about 9 minutes because the cookies were already starting to brown. I'm glad I did too otherwise it would have been more on the crunchy side rather than the soft, chewy one that I wanted.

The chocolate chips from the supermarket were so tiny so I bought a chocolate bar to add on to the cookies. Because you know, you can never have enough!

Here are my cookies all nice and done:




 

Here's the recipe that I used:


1 Stick Butter (Softened)

1 Cup Brown Sugar

1 Cup White Sugar

3 Cups Flour

2 Eggs, 1 Egg Yolk

1/2 Cup Chocolate Chip Cookies

1 Regular-sized Chocolate Bar (Chopped)

2 Teaspoons Vanilla Extract

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1/2 Teaspoon Salt


1. Mix together softened butter, white and brown sugar, salt, and eggs.

2. Dissolve baking soda in 2 teaspoons of hot water and mix together with the batter.

3. Slowly add flour and chocolate to the mixture.

4. Drop spoonfuls of the batter to cookie sheet lined with wax paper.

5. Bake for 9 minutes or until the edges turn brown.



RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page